MBBS is an undergraduate course in medicine that spans over 4½ years and 1 year internship. MBBS (Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery) and is the preliminary course for all kinds of specializations in medicine. MBBS course includes four years and 6 months of classroom study and a one-year compulsory rotational internship in any approved hospital. Many different institutions and universities offer MBBS course in India and some also offer student exchange programs for brilliant students with foreign countries. MBBS is the stepping stone for a career in the medical profession and is one of those programs that are recognized at the international level.

Quick View:

Course Level UG
Duration 4½ years and 1 year internship
Eligibility Class XII or equivalent exams from a recognized board with min 50% in science subjects and NEET

Eligibility Criteria

The candidate must be 17 years of age at the time of admission and should not exceed 25 years of age. The candidates must have passed Class XII or equivalent exam from any recognised board and with min 50% in physics, chemistry and biology. Any candidate seeking admission into MBBS colleges must qualify the medical entrance NEET.

Admission Procedure

The admissions are done on the basis of the score achieved in NEET. A merit list is then prepared based on the score secured in the entrance examination. As per the ranks, the selected students are invited for the counselling process. During counselling, the candidate can select their choice of college. After the verification of documents students can download their admission letter and report to the allotted colleges for admission.

Entrance Exam:

NEET is the single entrance exam for all medical aspirants seeking admissions into medical institutes in India replacing most of the state and national level entrance exam.

MBBS Colleges in Banglore

  • Vydehi Institute of Medical Sciences & Research Centre
  • M.V.J Medical College & Research Hospital
  • BGS Global Institute of Medical Sciences
  • St. John's Medical College
  • East Point College Of Medical Sciences
  • Kempegowda Institute of Medical Sciences (KIMS)
  • Sapthagiri Institute of Medical Sciences & Research Centre
  • M.S. Ramaiah Medical College
  • Dr. B.R. Ambedkar Medical College
  • Sri Devaraj Urs Medical College
  • Raja Rajeshwari Medical College and Hospital
  • Akash Institute of Medical Science and Research Centre
  • The Oxford Medical College, Hospital & Research Centre

Course Structure and Course Syllabus

  • The first two semesters are termed as – Preclinical and impart basic education of many subjects.
  • Coming three semesters are called Para-Clinical that comprise acquiring knowledge of the advanced subjects such as pathology, microbiology and forensics. The basic medical practices and criminal medicine are also taught in this duration.
  • Remaining 4 semesters are termed as the Clinical semesters with stress being laid on the core medicine subjects and medical procedures. All the major proceedings and skill acquisition are done during this time. Some of the major courses during this time phase are ENT, Orthopaedics, Ophthalmology, Psychiatry, Dermatology, Anaesthesiology and Obstetrics etc.

The course completion is marked by the successful completion of the internship period. After the internship, graduates are awarded the degrees and have to register themselves with the MCI. Without registration, the graduates are not eligible for clinical practice.

Apply Now

Found the best course that suits your interest and the right college to pursue your studies? Then fill your details to get in touch with us and we will take you to your dream course/college.



We bring to you the latest updates on colleges, exams and courses